The York Foundation for Public Education is a tax-exempt 501(c) (3) organization that has been supporting all nineteen schools in the York County School Division since 1994.

The Foundation is dependent on community support through donations of cash, in-kind services, and volunteer ours. If you are interested in learning more about the YFPE, Inc. please call 757-898-0451.

Mission Statement
The York Foundation for Public Education, Inc. (YFPE, Inc.) supports public education in York County by developing resources to encourage educational innovation, promote and recognize excellence, and address the needs of students, faculty and staff of the York County School Division.

Foundation Policy
Foundation funds are directed toward support of the school system for program priorities where public funds are not available. No funding will be provided to supplant funds required for the constitutional and legal program obligations of the York County community.

Board Officers 2018-19

President: Carrie Dayton
Vice President: Cathy Cheney
Secretary: Pam Neale
Treasurer: Sandy Matthews


Sandra Allen
Denise Ashby
Kermit Ashby, M.D.
Kelly Ashe
Tricia Biagas
Dick Carter
Catherine Cheney
Larry Cheney
Carrie Dayton
Glynnis Ellis
Katherine Goff
Barbara Haywood
Christina Head
Catherine Jones, Ed.D.
Sandy Matthews
Kathy Melo
Kathleen Murphy
Page S. Neale
Pam Neale
Julie Reichle
Sewell Rowley
Gary L. Sager
Victor D. Shandor, Ed.D.
Steve Staples, Ed.D.

Foundation Liaison:


Foundation Administrative Assistant:


The York County School Division website contains links to other sites that are not owned or controlled by York County School Division. Be advised that we, the York County School Division,
are not responsible or liable for the content, security or information of these sites. These external links are provided for your convenience.