FY23-27 Plan Development

The York County School Division last established a Strategic Plan in 2017, to be implemented between fiscal years 2018 and 2022. Over the course of the 2021-22 fiscal year, the York County School Division engaged in the development of its next strategic plan. Work on the FY23-27 Strategic Plan began in the summer of 2021 by conducting a public search for a company to serve in a consultation and facilitation capacity to support a new approach to the plan's development and structure. The division selected Insight Education, a company with more than 20 years' experience supporting school districts around the country in developing strategic plans, accelerating professional growth and student learning.

The plan's development was conducted in three stages: prework, design and implementation.


Conduct Needs Assessment

  • Gather quantitative information
  • Collect qualitative input

Draft New Plan

  • Develop Theory of Action
  • Define district priorities
  • Identify measurable goals

Define Initiatives

  • Identify action steps
  • Manage and report on progress of implementation (FY23 through FY27)

The school board, superintendent, members of the division's Executive Leadership team kicked off the design stage with a workshop focusing on the key components of the plan. Board members continued their involvement in the plan's development at key points throughout pre-work and design stages.

Vision - states what the division aspires to do

Mission - articulates who the division is, what the division does, and who it serves

Values - set of beliefs that drive all behaviors of the division

Priorities - broad focus areas for the division over the next 3-5 years

Strategies - work the division will undertake to achieve over the next 3-5 years

Indicators - key information the division will use to measure progress towards priorities


The division created a Strategic Plan Steering Committee to serve in an advisory capacity as the division engaged stakeholders in the plan development. The committee included administrators, teachers, students, family members, business representatives, and community members. Committee met monthly, in person and virtually, from January through May to review data and feedback from other stakeholder groups and to help refine priorities throughout the plan development.

Broader stakeholder involvement occurred through surveys and focus group sessions. In February, students, staff, families and community members were invited to participate in online survey. The survey results identified five top priorities among all stakeholder groups (students, staff, families and community members):

  • Recruit and retain highly qualified leaders, teachers and support staff
  • Opportunities/personal pathways based on student's strengths and interests
  • Safe and secure learning environments
  • Preparing students for successful transition to college and/or career
  • Student mental health and wellness supports

In April, six focus groups sessions held with students, staff, families, and community members provided additional opportunities to gather input and feedback on the progress of the plan development.

Strategic Plan Committee Members

Student and Family Representatives

  • Isaiah Bennett, Bruton Zone
  • Karley Haskiell, York Zone
  • Laura Hogan, York Zone
  • Stacey Major, Grafton Zone
  • Monique Randall, Bruton Zone
  • Nick Borer, Tabb Zone

Teacher and School Administrator Representatives

  • Charity Ayres, Grafton High teacher
  • Savina Booth, Yorktown Elementary teacher
  • Arletha Dockery, Bruton High Principal
  • Brian Fries, Coventry Elementary principal
  • Cliff Harmon, York High school counselor
  • Melissa Madrigal, Grafton Middle teacher
  • Haley Minney, Bethel Manor Elementary teacher
  • Christine Swanson, Yorktown Middle assistant principal
  • Candice Welch, Tabb High assistant principal
  • Michael Young, Tabb Middle teacher

Business and Community Representatives

  • Christine Stiefel, Joint Base Langley-Eustis
  • Brian Fuller, York County
  • Sunny Lee, Newport News Shipbuilding
  • Kathyleen Wyatt, Ed.D., Ferguson Enterprises

Division Representatives

  • Victor Shandor, Ed.D., Division Superintendent
  • Katherine Goff, Public Relations and Communications Officer
  • David Reitz, Ed.D., Director of Leadership and Accountability
  • Karen Cagle, Ed.D., Director of Curriculum and Instruction
  • Aaron Butler, Ed.D., Director of School Administration
  • Christy Morgan, Associate Director of Student Services
  • Margaret Kirk, Accounting and Finance Manager
  • Tracee Vaught, Senior Personnel Specialist - Staffing

The York County School Division website contains links to other sites that are not owned or controlled by York County School Division. Be advised that we, the York County School Division,
are not responsible or liable for the content, security or information of these sites. These external links are provided for your convenience.