York County School Division Annual Report

Honors & Awards

YCSD Teachers of the Year
The York County Teacher of the Year program recognizes one teacher at each division school. These teachers are selected by their peers for their excellence in teaching. A panel of teachers and administrators then select level teachers of the year and then a division-wide teacher of the year. The division teacher of the year represents YCSD in the state's teacher of the year competition.

Superintendent's Award   Spirit of Education Award
Michael Cataldo, York High School   Deborah Ray, Bruton High School
Michael Cataldo from York High School received the Superintendent's Award. This award recognizes YCSD employees who have made a particular meaningful contribution to the school and/or community.   Deborah Ray from Bruton High School received the Spirit of Education Award. This award recognizes one employee who symbolizes the essence of public education.

Pathfinder Award - presented to schools for programs of excellence in five eligible categories. The winners for 2008-2009 school year are:

Volunteer Program Seaford Elementary School
School Spirit Waller Mill Elementary School
Community Outreach Coventry Elementary School
Technology York River Academy
Instruction Tabb High School

Apple Awards - recognizes employees' individual acts of outstanding service or achievement.

Sharon Anderson Queens Lake Middle School   Stephen Lyday Seaford Elementary School
Sherron Anderson Seaford Elementary School   Susan McTheny Queens Lake Middle School
Kathy Callaway Dare Elementary School   Patricia Molyneaux Tabb Middle School
Susan Doherty Coventry Elementary School   Stacey Pearce Seaford Elementary School
Katharine Fulop Seaford Elementary School   Andrea Schmidt Waller Mill Fine Arts Magnet
Katherine Gaylord Waller Mill Fine Arts Magnet   Kelly Sorrell Mt. Vernon Elementary School
Lisa Gregory Mount Vernon Elementary School   Joanne Spino Seaford Elementary School
Connie Hayes Seaford Elementary School   Tammy Staten Magruder Elementary School
Brenda Ingram York High School   Catherine Taylor Mt. Vernon Elementary School
Gerri Klepeisz Coventry Elementary School   Kathleen Teague Coventry Elementary School
David Kilburn Information Technology   Holly Whittenburg Mount Vernon Elementary School
Joanne Lane Mount Vernon Elementary School   Gabriele Zimmerman Seaford Elementary School
Becky Levesque Coventry Elementary School      

Hovis Cup - named after Coach Charles Hovis, this is awarded to the High School that has the most wins when competing against another YCSD high school team. 2008-2009 winner of the cup is Tabb High School.

Congratulations to the YCSD Art Contest Winners

Fall 2008
Cianna Hamrick, Seaford Elementary School
Laura Kross, Grafton High School

Spring 2009
Pooja Patel, Coventry Elementary School
Emily Myers, Grafton High School

Home | Emergency Information | Employment | Contact Us | Site Map | Search | Privacy Policy
302 Dare Road • Yorktown, Virginia 23692 • Phone: (757) 898-0300 • FAX: (855) 878-9063
Division Superintendent: Victor D. Shandor, Ed.D.
© York County School Division. All rights reserved.
York County School Division